It’s Mango Season!

6 Jul

This week I decided to do something about the 3 million mangoes I have in my kitchen.

My backyard’s tree is giving us so many! I decided to do one of my abuela’s recipe yesterday: Mango Crisp (o Crispeta de Mango in spanish) … of course my version is completely veganized and very simple to do.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

Mango Filling:

7 large peeled and sliced mangoes

1/2 cup cane sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp lime juice

Crust:

1 cup all purpose unbleached all purpose flour

1 cup cane sugar

1/2 cup dry soy milk

150 gr Earth Balance ( approx. 1 stick and a half or 1/2 cup+1/4 cup)

Pinch of nutmeg ( This is optional as the original recipe does not have this ingredient)

1/4 cup of macadamia nuts ( This is optional too)

Preparation:

Put the mangos on pan at low heat with the sugar, lime juice and cinnamon for 10 minutes.

Mangos, sugar, cinnamon, lime juice

Meanwhile mixed with a fork or your hands the earth balance, flour, sugar, dry soy milk, nutmeg and nuts. Do not overmix, you want to create the crumble pieces that will be on top of the filling.Turn on the oven at 350 degrees.

Here is the crumble ready but...

I decided to add the nutmeg and the macadamia nuts. I love the combination.

Once the mangos are ready put them on an 8X8 glass baking dish and let them cool down.

Put the Crumble mix on top of the mangos and in the oven for approx. 20-25 minutes or until the crust is gold.

Ready to bake

ok at this point my mouth was watering… but please let it cool down a little bit before eating it.

I grabbed my non-dairy vanilla ice cream and …

… yes I ate all that portion🙂

Of course I also made my seasonal mango cupcakes… The filling is a mango compote with macadamia ( I liked the combination of flavors I got with the crisp) and it came out EXCELLENT!, enjoy the pics!

xo

Mari

Mango Cupcake

Yum!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Leave a Reply

